Frequently Asked Questions


The awards – what are they about?

The National Bravery Awards are given to people from all walks of life and all sections of the community who have saved a human life which involved a personal risk to them.

Are the awards open to everyone?

Yes.  An award can be made once the act of bravery took place:
(a) in the State
(b) at sea by a member of a crew of a ship registered in the State
(c) outside the State by a person giving assistance to a member of the crew of, or a passenger in, an aircraft or a ship registered in the State.

Awards cannot be made to members of the Defence Forces for a deed of bravery that was performed while on active service.

How many awards are there and are there different categories of awards?

Awards are presented in four categories – gold, silver, bronze and a certificate of recognition.

How do you enter yourself or somebody else for an award?

Anyone can make a nomination by completing the nomination form and sending it to:

National Bravery Awards
51 St. Stephen’s Green
Dublin 2

Nomination forms are available at and the annual closing date for applications is 31 March.

How are the bravery awards decided?

The Council of the National Bravery Awards meet on an annual basis to consider and decide on the awards to be made.  In making their decision they consider reports made of the act of bravery by An Garda Síochana or from the emergency services.  

Who are the members of the National Bravery Awards Council?

The Ceann Comhairle who is also the Chairman of the Council
The Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann
The Chairman of the Central Council of the Irish Red Cross Society
The Lord Mayor of Dublin
The Lord Mayor of Cork
The Chairman of the General Council of County Councils
The Commissioner of An Garda Síochána

Annual Awards Ceremony

The National Bravery Awards Ceremony is takes place in Farmleigh House, Phoenix Park, Castleknock, Dublin 15, Ireland

Press Accreditation

To attend this event you must be accredited by the Houses of the Oireachtas. To arrange for accreditation for the event or for further information please contact:

Nuala Walsh,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +3531 618 3437
M: 086-04100898
F: +3531 618 4551

Interview Requests

To request interviews with award winners and members of the judging panel, please contact 


Press Archive

Press Release Archive