About the Award

Deeds of Bravery Awards are given to people from all walks of life and all sections of society who have saved a human life involving personal risk to them.

The Council who adjudicates on who should receive an award is called Comhairle na Míre Gaile and it consists of:



As of November 2015 the current members are:



  • Letter of Commendation;

  • Certificate of Bravery;

  • Certificate of Bravery Memorial (if deceased);

  • Bronze Medal and Certificate;

  • Memorial Bronze Medal and Certificate (if deceased);

  • Silver Medal and Certificate;

  • Memorial Silver Medal and Certificate (if deceased);

  • Gold Medal and Certificate English Version Irish Version;

  • Memorial Gold Medal and Certificate (if deceased) English Version Irish Version

The postal address for the Secretariat to the National Bravery Awards is 51 St Stephen’s Green, Dublin 2. The Secretary to the Council is Ms. Fiona Kealy – telephone: 01 6028202, email: sec@bravery.ie

Nominations are received from members of the public, An Garda Síochána or from other bodies such as Local Authorities, the Defence Forces, etc.

Bravery Medal
Bravery Logo
Gold Medal Recipients
Historical Background
Deeds of Bravery Act, 1947
Richard Joseph King